characters, Urban Fantasy, world building, Writer's Life, writing

Black Panther: A Different Kind of Review

*Although I’m pretty sure I’m not giving away the story, readers are warned there may be minor spoilers in this posting.*


pexels-photo-891059.jpeg

As a child I wasn’t allowed to read comic books.Therefore, I have no background in the Marvel Universe or knowledge of the Justice League as they were originally written. A common downside for me is the beloved teaser the movies employ. I sit there and diligently wait until the end, and then have to text my son to ask who the new character is and what is the significance of the scene. But I am a devoted fan of the movies and many of the characters. Characters I did not like years ago have become favorites with a simple change of actor. For instance,Toby Maguire and Christian Bale just didn’t do “it” for me, but Tom Holland and Ben Affleck are awesome.)

It was a no-brainer that I would be there for opening night of Black Panther. The commercials were exhilarating (and okay, the hero and the villain are both incredibly sexy). I was surprised that, although I bought tickets weeks before the premier, it was already nearly sold out. I ended up in Row U, the next to last row in seats at the top corner of the theater.

There are already many reviews of Black Panther by people who are much more knowledgeable than I. But I do agree with the vast majority that the movie is incredible. Phenomenal story (a classic hero’s journey). Great acting. Beautiful cinematography. But what I liked most about the movie was the development of the antagonist. In the world of comics the antagonist is often a menacing creature with no explanation of why he’s so angry. They usually have no redeeming feature. That is not the case for Black Panther’s Killmonger.

Like super villains before him, Killmonger wants world domination. The difference here is that we are given enough background information to know why.  And knowing why he behaves as he does gives us a means to identify with him, even if only a little.  Because we see him as wronged, a product of his abuse and neglect at the hand of the Wakanda ruler, we push world domination (his external goal) to the back of our minds, and understand that his true desire (internal goal) is to attain his rightful place in Wakanda.

His ruthlessness in achieving his goal is what puts him into the category of evil, along with the other Marvel super villains. He does not consider the fate of his people. He wants a new world order with him as the ruler. As the movie continues, we lose empathy and sympathy for him because he’s cold-blooded in his actions, caring little for the hurtful consequences. Yet, by the end of the movie our hearts are tugged once again, when he internal goal rises to the surface for him.

In my writing, I try to ensure my antagonist is a sympathetic character on some level. I would like to be half as successful at it as Stan Lee.

*******

Trevannn Rogers writes about rock stars, underdogs, and supernatural creatures in urban settings. Find her on Facebook, Twitter, and at www. trevannrogers.com

 

 

Leave a comment